Advisory Committee

An advisory committee of eminent intellectual property experts provide independent guidance on 4iP Council’s research agenda as well as input on the organisation structure and governance. However, 4iP Council publications do not necessarily reflect the individual positions of each advisory committee member.

Koenraad Debackere

Chairman of the Advisory Committee, Koenraad Debackere, is Professor of Economics, Strategy and Innovation at the K.U. Leuven, MD at K.U. Leuven’s technology transfer office and Chairman of K.U. Leuven’s venture fund.

Heinz Goddar

Heinz Goddar

PhD in Physics, German and European Patent Attorney. Partner at Boehmert & Boehmert. Honorary Professor at the University of Bremen, Germany, and Lecturer at several domestic and foreign Universities, like Tsinghua University School of Law, Beijing. Director of Global Institute for Intellectual Property (GIIP), Delhi, India and ad-personam member of the European Patent Office Standing Advisory Committee (SACEPO). Heinz is Gold Medalist of LESI and a member of the IP Hall of Fame.

Valeria Silva.jpg

Valeria Silva

Affiliate professor at ESCP Business School in Paris, with a legal and public policy background on intellectual property and innovation, competition policy, international trade and corporate social responsibility (ethics and green finance). Previous experiences include the OECD, the Brazilian competition authority, the private sector, the European Commission and academia in the U.S. and the UK.